Selangor Journal

Sultan Muhammad V sworn in as Yang diPertuan Agong

KUALA LUMPUR, DEC 13: The Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V was sworn into office on December 13, as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a full traditional ceremony at the Istana Negara, here.
Also sworn in was the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, as Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.
Both Sultans were elected by the Malay Rulers in the Council of Rulers’ 243rd Meeting (Special) at the Istana Negara on October 14, for a period of five years from December 13.
Sultan Muhammad V, 47, replaces the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah whose tenure as the 14th Yang di-Pertuan Agong ended on December 12.
The ceremony in the Balairong Seri began with the 244th Meeting of the Council of Rulers (Special) in conjunction with the Istiadat Melafaz Sumpah dan Menandatangani Surat Sumpah Jawatan by both Their Royal Highnesses.

Top Picks

Over 16 mln Malaysian adults given Covid-19 booster dose

Over 300 compound notices for breaching smoking ban issued by Health Ministry last night

Police seeking public assistance regarding missing teen girl