Selangor Journal

Anwar-Mahathir pair to helm of Pakatan Harapan

PETALING JAYA, JUL 14: Pakatan Harapan has announced a new leadership structure pairing two very influential figures, KEADILAN de facto leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) Chairman, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.
Anwar was announced as Pakatan Harapan De Facto Leader while Tun Mahathir was selected as Chairman.
The decision was announced after Pakatan Harapan Presidential Council met at KEADILAN Headquarters yesterday.
KEADILAN President, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail was selected as the Pakatan Harapan President.
Meanwhile, PPBM President, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin; DAP Secretary-General, Lim Guan Eng and AMANAH President, Mohamad Sabu each holds a Vice President position.
Dato’ Menteri Besar Selangor who is also KEADILAN Deputy President, Dato’ Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali was elected as Pakatan Harapan Vice President together with Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir (PPBM), Chong Chieng Jen (DAP) and Salahuddin Ayub (AMANAH).
The duty of Chief Secretary was tasked to Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah while M Kula Segaran was assigned as Pakatan Harapan Treasurer.
Through a joint statement, the new structure which is now accepted is a sign of a more incisive, fresh and dynamic political unity.
In the same development, Pakatan Harapan gave the commitment that the process to seek for pardon and acquittal for Anwar will be initiated within a week after they form the government.
“The application which will follow it due legal process, with the consent from Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, will allow Anwar to return and participate fully in nation’s politics,” the statement said.
WhatsApp Image 2017-07-14 at 7.49.41 AM WhatsApp Image 2017-07-14 at 7.49.40 AM

Top Picks

Home Minister asked to consider extending PLKS for three sub-sectors

Rohana has returned US$10 mln, assets linked to 1MDB

KBS to launch Rakan Muda programme after Aidilfitri