Selangor Journal

Eight Senators Sworn In as New Dewan Negara Members

By: Syauqi Jamil


KUALA LUMPUR: Eight Senators were appointed to the Dewan Negara today after they took their oaths before Speaker SA Vigneswaran.

However, the freshly minted appointees are keeping mum in regards to their respective portfolios for the time being.

This includes DAP strategist and Johor chairman Liew Chin Tong, Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) chairman P. Waytha Moorthy, Amanah’s Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia’s (PPBM) Mohd Radzi Jidin.

Liew who faced defeat at the general elections to MCA’s Wee Ka Siong in Ayer Hitam, Johor declined to elaborate further on any ministerial post that he may or may not helm.

“It’s okay, I have to go to the Palace now,” he told reporters at the Parliament lobby earlier.

Waytha Moorthy who was previously a Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister department said that he felt more comfortable now as oppose to his time during the Barisan Nasional government.

However, when asked on potential ministerial post, Waytha Moorthy briefly replied with a brief ‘we will know later’.

Raja Bahrin on the other hand said that his appointment is an honour for the people of Terengganu, adding that the state which fell to PAS at the last general elections will not be left behind politically.

However, when asked on portfolio matters, he quickly declined to share any details adding that he needs to rush to Istana Negara to be sworn in.

Other appointed Senators include PAS’ Hussain Awang, Ismail Ibrahim, Marzuki Yahya and Asmak Husin.
Despite this, speculations over the identities of a minister and two deputy ministers mentioned by Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad remains.


Top Picks

Covid test at Singapore land checkpoints; all cargo drivers tested negative

Editor Selangor Journal

Vaccination important in restoring country’s economy — Mosti

Editor Selangor Journal

Covid: CAC to classify, assess patients suitable for home treatment — Dr Adham

Editor Selangor Journal