Selangor Journal
Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin delivering a special address to the nation on the Covid-19 situation in the country, on September 15, 2020. — Picture by BERNAMA

PM: MCO in six states including Selangor, KL, from Jan 13 to 26

By Selangor Journal Team

SHAH ALAM, Jan 11 — Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has today announced that the movement control order (MCO) will be reintroduced from January 13 till 26, which will be carried out in three stages, in efforts to contain the Covid-19 outbreak.

Muhyiddin said the three stages include the enforcement of the MCO in six states, namely Selangor, the Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, and Labuan), Penang, Melaka, Johor, and Sabah; the conditional MCO (CMCO) in Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan; and the recovery MCO (RMCO) in Perlis and Sarawak.

The measures are part of the Federal government’s efforts in handling the recent upsurge of Covid-19 infection in the country in which Muhyiddin said have caused the country’s healthcare system to be at a breaking point.

“The government has agreed that strict measures have to be implemented by enforcing the movement control order for 14 days beginning 12.01 midnight on January 13 until January 26,” said Muhyiddin during a special address broadcasted live today.

Last year, the MCO was enforced nationwide from March 18 to May 4 to break the Covid-19 chain of infection, which was then replaced with the CMCO.

“The states that are enforced under the MCO are categorised as high-risk based on the risk assessment carried out by the Health Ministry (MOH).

“The MOH will continue carrying out the risk assessment and will decide whether the MCO will be lifted or extended before the two-week period ends,” he said.

Among the measures taken in the areas enforced under the MCO include:

  • Total ban on mass movement and gathering such as religious, sports, social and cultural activities, including Thaipusam, weddings, meetings, seminars, and training
  • Restrictions over interstate travel nationwide and crossing district borders not allowed in MCO-enforced areas
  • Roadblocks will be set up beginning January 13 at midnight
  • Only two people from each household allowed to leave the house and be in the same vehicle
  • Only five sectors categorised as essential economic sectors allowed to operate, namely manufacturing, construction, services, trade and distribution, and plantations and commodities
  • Eateries and small traders are only allowed to provide takeaway services in areas under the MCO
  • Outdoor sports activities such as jogging and cycling allowed individually or in pairs

Top Picks

Slight drop in new Covid-19 cases with 3,048 reported today — Health DG

Editor Selangor Journal

Miti: Govt can consider tightening SOPs to prevent outbreaks

Editor Selangor Journal

Hartalega records higher net profit of RM1 bln in third quarter 2020

Editor Selangor Journal