Selangor Journal
Fire and Rescue Department personnel disinfecting and sanitising bags and belongings of Malaysian passengers who arrived at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) from New Delhi, India, on July 18, 2020. — Picture by BERNAMA

Malaysia bans entry of travellers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka

KUALA LUMPUR, May 6 — After banning Indian nationals from entering Malaysia, the government yesterday extended the ban to cover travellers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the ban covered all categories of long-term social visit pass holders, business travellers and social visitors.

“However, exemptions are given to holders of diplomatic and official passports as provided for under the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations 1961,” he said in a statement yesterday on the movement control order (MCO), conditional MCO (CMCO) and recovery MCO (RMCO).

He said this category of travellers could enter Malaysia subject to the existing standard operating procedure (SOP).

The government had earlier banned visitors from India following an alarming spike in Covid-19 cases in that country.

— Bernama

Top Picks

Man charged for allegedly stealing 58 pieces of women’s undergarments

Thailand, Malaysia central banks launch cross-border QR payment linkage

Ringgit ends slightly higher against US dollar on better sentiment