Selangor Journal
A member of the Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) drops the ballot paper into the ballot box during the early voting process for the 15th general election (GE15) at Dewan Seri Terengganu of the 18th Battalion Royal Malay Regiment at Sri Pantai Camp in Kuala Nerus, Kuala Terengganu, on November 15, 2022. — Picture by BERNAMA

GE15: Additional ballot box for 10 parliamentary seats, two state seats — EC

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 17 — The Election Commission (EC) will add one additional ballot box at constituencies that will see seven candidates or more contesting in the 15th general election (GE15), said EC secretary Datuk Ikmalrudin Ishak.

The EC has identified 10 Parliamentary constituencies that have seven candidates or more, namely P9 Alor Setar, P62 Sungai Siput, P99 Ampang, P102 Bangi, P107 Sungai Buloh, P109 Kapar, P110 Klang, P111 Kota Raja, P113 Sepang, and P115 Batu.

Apart from parliamentary seats, two state seats will also see seven candidates or more contesting in the GE15, namely N47 Chenderiang in Perak and N66 Bugaya in Sabah.

Ikmalrudin said the decision to add a ballot box at each of these constituencies was after taking into account the size of the ballot papers, as with seven or more candidates, the ballot paper will also be bigger in size and would need more space to accommodate.

The EC has set November 19 (Saturday) as polling day.

— Bernama

Top Picks

Anwar, Sultan of Brunei hold meeting to boost bilateral ties

Editor Selangor Journal

Malaysian export prices drop slightly in October — DOSM

Editor Selangor Journal

Former Langkawi MP dies in Germany

Editor Selangor Journal