Selangor Journal
The Cheras parliamentary seat polling centre for the 15th general election at SMK Perimbun closed at precisely 6pm, on November 19, 2022. — Picture by HAFIZ OTHMAN/SELANGORKINI

GE15: Polling completed, counting of ballots begins

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 19 — Polling has been completed in Malaysia’s 15th general election (GE15), and counting of the ballots has begun.

Polling centres opened at 7.30am in Sabah and Sarawak and 8am in the peninsula. They closed in stages between 11 am and 5.30pm in Sabah and Sarawak and at 6pm in the peninsula.

The results of the contests for 220 of the 222 parliamentary seats and 116 of the 117 state seats will be announced tonight as and when they are declared.

Polling in the Padang Serai parliamentary constituency in Kedah and the Tioman state constituency in Pahang has been postponed to December 7 following the death of a candidate in each of the two constituencies. The new date for nomination of candidates is November 24.

The Pakatan Harapan (Harapan-Keadilan) candidate for Padang Serai, incumbent M.Karupaiya, died on Wednesday, while the Perikatan Nasional (PN-PAS) candidate for Tioman died early today.

The voting in 11 polling centres in the Baram parliamentary constituency in Sarawak, on the other hand, was suspended due to adverse weather.

The 116 state seats are in Pahang (41 of 42), Perak (59) and Perlis (15), as well as the Bugaya state seat in Sabah, which faces a by-election that was postponed due to the emergency declared to contain the Covid-19 pandemic.

According to the Election Commission (EC) the voter turnout had reached 70 per cent as at 4pm.
— Bernama

Top Picks

BAC 2024: Aaron-Wooi Yik to face Sze Fei-Nur Izzuddin for a place in final

King expresses hope for increased investment from Chinese companies in Malaysia

Japan’s population falls for 13th straight year, drops below 125 mln