Selangor Journal
Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change Minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad says he is certain more businesses will be inspired by the winners of the National Energy Awards 2023 and spearhead more efforts towards net zero emissions. — Picture by BERNAMA

Govt commends 29 firms for sustainability efforts

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 18 — The Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change (NRECC) Ministry and the Malaysian Green Technology and Climate Change Corporation (MGTC) today announced 29 winners of the National Energy Awards (NEA) 2023.

MGTC in a statement said 23 of the winners from the three categories — Energy Management, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy — will represent Malaysia in the Asean Energy Awards scheduled for August 24 and 25.

NRECC Minister Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad said the ministry has organised the NEA annually since 2018 to raise the awareness, acceptance and adoption of sustainable energy practices across all industries, aligning it with Malaysia’s commitment towards sustainable economic growth.

“Malaysia requires everyone to play their part in our race to net zero, and NEA participants have surely led the path with their ideas, innovation and implementation for all of us to emulate.

“I am certain more businesses will be inspired by their example and I look forward to seeing increased participation in future editions of NEA,” Nik Nazmi was quoted as saying in the statement.

The statement said the 114 submissions this year offered solutions for a combined energy reduction of over 1.34 gigawatts in terms of electricity savings, equivalent to a reduction in carbon emissions of over 23,000 tonnes per year.

Winners in the Energy Management category were Melaka’s Alor Gajah Hospital and Jasin Hospital, Johor’s Tangkak Hospital and Pontian Hospital, Johor Port Authority, Micron Semiconductor Malaysia, Ramatex Textiles Industrial, and Indah Water Konsortium Klang Selatan and Butterworth Selatan.

Winners in the Energy Efficiency category were Tzu Chi International School, PJ Midtown, Johor Port Authority, Kenanga Tower, Lotus’s Bukit Mertajam, Hospital Sultanah Maliha, Menara PJH, IOI City Mall Phase 1, Spritzer ASRS Warehouse and PLUS Bhd.

Winners in the Renewable Energy category were Proton Tanjung Malim, reNIKOLA Holdings, Sime Darby Plantation Renewable Energy, Tonibung, Ranhill SAJ, Sabah Softwoods, Sirim Bhd, Alam Flora Environmental Solutions and H2 Energy.

For more information on NEA 2023, visit its website.

— Bernama

Top Picks

Minister:  Less than 4pct left to achieve 5G network coverage target

Editor Selangor Journal

ByteDance offers share buyback valued at US$268bln — Sources

Editor Selangor Journal

China’s exports slump seen slowing as pockets of demand emerge — Poll

Editor Selangor Journal